Information Center

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Ponyboy View Post
    I heard that they were moving to a different ranch and opening up another deer and exotic only hunting ranch in either Kansas or Nebraska, can't remember which. I don't know what's driving his business if he treats all of his customers that way unless it's just good advertising and marketing.

    There's another guy that's been around for a long time that runs Hog Hunting - Free Hog Hunting, which is their newest website, that has been sued and has a million complaints on the net and he's still hanging around selling lots of hunts because he advertises everywhere, so he gets a lot of unsuspecting clients. He also regularly changes his website address to disguise his business as a different one.


    The best advice is to beware and ask for referrals before you book a hunt someplace and send them your money.
    Well, my hunting buddy & coworker and I flew into Austin and hunted in the fore mentioned hunting spot for the 3d/2 night deal and were very pleased. I got a couple of 40-50 lb piglets and my buddy got a 120 lb sow that charged him along with 2 other piglets about the same as mine. The staff was very helpful and the food was ok. Their on-site prep shop mad it easy for us to cart the hog meat back to the airport and fly back to Maryland! As with anything, your "milage may vary"! We had a great time!

    The facilities aren't luxurious, but adequate. My buddy still wants to go back, but was very interested in the Dos Plumas hunt site. I'll let him read the reviews and then let him decide. (I'm originally from Abilene/Sweetwater so it would have been a great reason to visit Texas anyway!) Thanks for the review!

    •   Alt 

      WildHogHunters

      advertising
      WildHogHunters.com
      has no influence
      on advertisings
      that are displayed by
      Google Adsense

        
       

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Dos Plumas= waste of time and money !!!

    To Whom It May Concern,

    I was just at Dos Plumas Ranch on March 14th and 15th of 2012. I took my dad with me, looking forward to an amazing trip. I saw the website, went through the pictures, read all that there was, watched the videos and read some reviews, all sounded great.

    As soon as we arrived, I noticed that the last hunters had not left as of yet and all 6 of them were looking very unhappy and left still looking very unhappy, I thought. The next day and a half showed me why, in the morning we were all dropped off on a dirt road ( after sun-up ), the guide told us that he would drive back by in a few hours to pick us up. At this point the seven of us went our own way. I walked, climbed, crawled through the brush, the small ravines and found more dead animals than living ones.

    The ranch is 300 acres so it's not hard to see it all in a day and I did ! I found 4 dead rams and 12 dead hogs in different stages of decay.Throughout the entire day, I scared up 4 hogs that I never saw, just heard them running away in the super thick brush. My best guess, they might have had 30 hogs on the whole ranch.

    Before we went out for the evening hunt, I asked our trusty guide which blinds were doing better than the others and he said, "Uhh, they're all about the same..." Anyone with his job should know the answer to this question, sadly, he wasn't sure. So I took the field blind for the evening and saw nothing for the next few hours but 3 rams that came over to my blind and let me pet them... Hummm!!! After dark, I saw one hog at 250 yards out, it was so dark that it wasn't a safe shot. I get back to camp to see how the other 6 did that evening, all were disappointed with the ranch and how it's run and the lack of animals that were available.

    The next morning I got up before the others and left on foot, I walked the the loop where the feeders are, before they spread out any corn, and all of the corn and feed from the night before was all still there, nothing had been feeding at any of them all night. If there were any hogs that feed would have been gone. What pigs are on the ranch won't go near the feeders and are so skittish, you have no shot at them.

    I asked our guide Bryce, why there were no lights on the feeders or anywhere else in the hunting zone, he told us, "It's too difficult to track an animal at night and that's just too late for me to be picking people up, an hour or two after dark." The only thing that came to my mind was this guy is just lazy, nothing else to it...

    Someone else asked what I would do better;

    1. Keep better track of where animals are harvested on the property.
    2. When you are low, add more hogs.
    3. Put lights on my feeders.
    4. Better land management, clear out the overgrown brush.
    5. Help put your customers on the animals they are after.
    6. Keep track of where your animals are feeding at.
    7. When your customers ask for clean sheets for the bed and pillow, get it for them !!!

    To summarize, I have been on several hog hunts all over the state of Texas with my Dad, this is the first I have had to apologize to him for. I would certainly not recommend this ranch until they are under "new management".

    Sincerely,
    Hungry Hunter

  3. #13
    Wild Hog Hunter
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Splendora, TX
    Posts
    588
    orangeink74 thanks for sharing your review of this place. Sorry to hear you had a terrible trip

  4. #14
    Pro Staff outlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    396
    You guys need to book a hunt with Donnie at Coyote Creek Ranch if you are going to do a high fence hunt. Donnie's facilities are nice and Donnie is one hell of a nice guy. He has free range hog hunts if you insist on them, but his high fence hunt is his bread and butter. check out his website:
    http://www.texashogsandrams.com/
    Author:Realm of the Wolf and Law of the Wolf
    Life NRA Member

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Dos Plumas Review

    So I read these threads and posts and thought I should share my experiences with Dos Plumas. I just got back from a 3 day hog hunt at Dos Plumas a few hours ago. This was my 2nd trip to Dos Plumas, but the first trip to the new ranch. My hunting partner and I didn't fill out, but that was our fault for being selective, not from lack of animals.

    I couldn't disagree with Hungry Hunter more adamantly. The problem with people is that they think they can book a hunt at a ranch somewhere and the owner/guides are obligated to parade trophy animals in front of them by the hundreds. It's called hunting for a reason. Hog hunting is not as easy as many people think. How much fun would it be if you could go out and shoot 200 pound boars every time you crawled into a stand. Dos Plumas doesn't claim to be a trophy ranch and their prices are such that regular guys like me can afford to go every other year and enjoy a long weekend hunting in the "off-season". Keep in mind what you paid. If you want lighted feeders (bring a flashlight genious), guides who track the animals 24/7, buy hogs and "stock" them by the dozens like they grown on trees, clear out overgrown brush in their "spare" time (prime hog habitat by the way), etc you need to go to a ranch where you will get one on one attention and you can pay $2k for that hunt.

    The more amenities you want and the more hand holding you need, the more it will cost you. Allan has created this ranch for the regular Joe. Someone who grew up hunting and has a passion for hunting but can't spend his life savings or his kids' college tuition on a hunt. The problem I have seen at Dos Plumas in my two trips isn't with Allan or Brice, but with the guys who show up thinking they are going to see hundreds of hogs each day and only shoot 300 pounders. These guys are unrealistic and most have very little knowledge of how to hunt. They show up not shooting their rifles or bows before arriving in camp, they can't hit the broadside of a barn, they have no clue how to actually hunt and they think hog hunting is easy and that is why they come. They don't consider wind direction, they don't understand how weather affects animal movement and how to adjust their tactics based on these variables. They go out in blue jeans and carhart jackets, they smoke cigarettes in the stand, they come back and sleep all afternoon, they want the guide to drop them off at the stand and tell them how many hogs will come by, what time and which direction they'll come from.

    I grew up hunting and know what it means to work for an animal and how much joy there is in the success of harvesting an animal, regardless of size. I had the opportunity to meet Brice this weekend and he went above and beyond to help us get on hogs. Remember, everyone wants and expects something different. Brice can't read minds. Ask him or tell him what you want and he'll do that for you. You also need to put on your big boy pants and do some things for yourself. I personally saw Brice going to bed at 2am and being back up before 6am each morning after he helped guys hunt all night, track wounded pigs, clean and quarter all the kills and then get up and do it all over the next day. The fact that you would call someone with that work ethic and dedication lazy says more about you than it does about anyone else. Brice has a passion for what he is doing and it shows through in his work ethic and enthusiasm.

    If you are looking for a ranch where you can be waited on hand and foot and with 5 star accomodations and a personal guide to wipe your ass, then don't book a hunt at Dos Plumas. If you want a challenging hunt, with good quality and quantity WILD pigs then book a hunt at Dos Plumas and you won't regret it. I am already planning my 3rd trip to Dos Plumas in 2013, but this time I am going to recruit enough family and friends so we can fill up the ranch and I don't run the chance of getting stuck hunting with a guy like Hungry Hunter. Your hunting trips are what YOU make of them. There is more to a successful hunting trip than truck loads of trophy pigs. Yes, that is what we all want, but for those of us who know what hunting is all about, it is about the experiences and memories. Half of hunting is who you are with and what you make of it. As long as Brice is at Dos Plumas, I'll keep coming back.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    207
    ,,,,,,,you must work there?
    www.CaptRickHiott.com
    Charleston,SC

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    9
    I asked our guide Bryce, why there were no lights on the feeders or anywhere else in the hunting zone, he told us, "It's too difficult to track an animal at night and that's just too late for me to be picking people up, an hour or two after dark." The only thing that came to my mind was this guy is just lazy, nothing else to it...

    Brice going to bed at 2am and being back up before 6am each morning after he helped guys hunt all night, track wounded pigs, clean and quarter all the kills and then get up and do it all over the next day.

    Did he say it or not?
    - did he mean it?

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Our THREE Experiences @ Dos Plumas Ranches

    First let me say I am in no way affiliated with this ranch and had never met Allen prior to our original visit four years ago.... We have now just returned from our THIRD trip to Dos Plumas... All THREE trips have been wonderful, for myself, my kids, and my friends.

    The lodge is a HUNTING LODGE! It's clean, comfortable, and beats many, many places I've stayed at while hunting over the years! Heat, AC, hot water, clean toilets, beds, kitchen - for a "real hunter" it's enough to spoil a guy. Absolutely no complaints on the lodging front - at either location. Let me say this, if you're looking for a 5 star room where you can receive a pedicure while hog hunting, sadly to say you WILL be disappointed. If you're a guy looking for a value hunt with comfortable lodging you'll be more than PLEASED.

    Allen, Lori, and their staff have all been wonderful, ALL the time. We've always felt like we've been well taken care of, and well catered to. They WANTED us to return and each and every time and that's not only been demonstrated through words, but most importantly through actions.

    As far as the new location and game populations..... NO complaints, ZERO!! First morning out on a spot and stalk probably saw 3+ dozen animals, buddy of mine gave a big 'ol 250+lb tusker a "dirt nap". It's thick in places, but come on - that's hog country! There's thorns, stickers, etc... be a man, be prepared, hunt it and you'll do well!!

    Lastly, whoever said Brice was lazy - wow..... The dude is on the go 6am - 10-11pm, 7 days a week doing all he can to keep hunters happy... He helped put us on animals, shared his knowledge, helped us track, picked us up at night, cleaned animals, provided clean towels, etc.... The guy is polite, friendly, all about safety and customer service, and a guy I want to hunt with again for sure. Thanks for all your work Brice - you helped made a good hunting trip great!

    After three visits combining the value, customer service, and success of our hunts with Dos Plumas Ranches I would not consider going anywhere else - there's been no reason to even consider it. We'll be back again, it's a class act run by good folks.

  9. #19
    Pro Staff outlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    396
    Sounds awesome. Got any pictures? Love to see them! Thanks for contributing.
    Author:Realm of the Wolf and Law of the Wolf
    Life NRA Member

  10. #20
    Member lmc8541's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bedford, transplant from East Texas.
    Posts
    81
    still no pics, huh?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Eastex Shooting Supply